Monday, April 13, 2009

Are Boar's Head cold cuts gluten free/casein free (GFCF)?

We are on vacation on Hutchinson Island in Stuart, Florida. I called Boar's Head to check if their pre-sliced pepperoni was gluten free casein free (GFCF.) Pepperoni is one of the unhealthy products we still eat. Mostly we used it with a little sauce to make pizza. It is so indulgent, you don't even notice there is no cheese. The Boar's Head nutrition line contact number is: 1-800-352-6277 if you want to call and double check. According to the woman I spoke to ALL BOAR'S HEAD MEAT'S, CHEESES AND CONDIMENTS ARE GLUTEN FREE and there are four products which contain casein:

Boar's Head Pickle and Pepper Loaf
Boar's Head Mortadella
Boar's Head Pesto Parmesan Ham
Boar's Head LaRosa D'Oro Stuffed Peppers

2 comments:

Jenny said...

I've been meaning to post this on my blog but I saw this great post about lunch meats: http://surefoodsliving.com/2009/04/07/lunch-meat-gluten-free-and-dairy-free-list/


I don't eat a lot of it, but it's great to know, I love Boar's Head!

Print this post
Nancy (TheSensitivePantry.com) said...

Thanks for posting this. I was just about to put some pepperoni (something I never do) on a GF/CF pizza and noticed it contains lactic acid - which I've read may or may not contain dairy. So, your post is timely.

Print this post