Monday, April 13, 2009

Are Boar's Head cold cuts gluten free/casein free (GFCF)?

We are on vacation on Hutchinson Island in Stuart, Florida. I called Boar's Head to check if their pre-sliced pepperoni was gluten free casein free (GFCF.) Pepperoni is one of the unhealthy products we still eat. Mostly we used it with a little sauce to make pizza. It is so indulgent, you don't even notice there is no cheese. The Boar's Head nutrition line contact number is: 1-800-352-6277 if you want to call and double check. According to the woman I spoke to ALL BOAR'S HEAD MEAT'S, CHEESES AND CONDIMENTS ARE GLUTEN FREE and there are four products which contain casein:

Boar's Head Pickle and Pepper Loaf
Boar's Head Mortadella
Boar's Head Pesto Parmesan Ham
Boar's Head LaRosa D'Oro Stuffed Peppers


Jenny said...

I've been meaning to post this on my blog but I saw this great post about lunch meats:

I don't eat a lot of it, but it's great to know, I love Boar's Head!

Print this post
Nancy ( said...

Thanks for posting this. I was just about to put some pepperoni (something I never do) on a GF/CF pizza and noticed it contains lactic acid - which I've read may or may not contain dairy. So, your post is timely.

Print this post