Monday, January 14, 2013

Gluten Free Treats for 2013

We needed a little extra fun tonight--it was Monday. Who doesn't need a little pick me up on Monday? 

The festive and fun Little Cakes cake pops contain dairy so I set up an equally fun martini glass with Mahalo and SNAP! bars that were gluten and dairy free. In addition, I put a small NoGii sample bar in a mini martini glass for my husband who, I thought, also needed a Monday pick me up. Using champagne glasses and martini glasses to serve and display dessert is a great way to add a little sparkle to a meal.

To order these products, visit G-Free NYC.


To see more information, ingredients and allergen information click on the links below...

The Little Cakes Cake Pops - sweet, fun cake pops. Contain dairy. They don't keep for more than 2 to 3 days.

Mahalo*-a gluten free and vegan almond joy candy bar. May contain traces (see below.)

SNAP! Crisped Rice Bar* - a gluten free and vegan chocolate bar with crispy rice similar to a Nestle's crunch. May contain traces (see below.)

Dauphin Salted Chocolate Chunk Cookie -gluten free, dairy free and egg free made in an allergy free bakery. A little too savory for us. "It was too salty" my 7 year old said.

NoGii - gluten free but contains dairy. All NoGii Products are being manufactured in a facility approved and certified by the stringent testing of the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO)

*While I really love the taste of The Mahalo and SNAP! bars, upon a closer inspection of the label I realized although these G-Max-Go products are labeled vegan and gluten free they also contain the disclaimer "This product is manufactured in a facility that produces products containing dairy, eggs, wheat, peanuts, and other tree nuts." This might be an issue for many people who are sensitive to these allergens. While they might be suitable for someone who is vegan, those with a dairy allergy should note that they were actually recalled in Canada. To read about the recall in Canada see Go Max Go Foods says it's chocolate bars are still vegan despite it's recall